Nancy Emma, who now serves on the board of directors for Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet, was once a recipient of the organization’s programs.

Snowball

According to Nancy, a Major in the Army at the time, she was on her second tour in Afghanistan when she was notified that her dogs were being abused by their caretaker.  “She’d keep them caged up all day, go overnight with some guy.”  Upset and furious Nancy began looking for help right away.   “I had to do a lot of research.  I didn’t know about Guardian Angels back then. I e-mailed everybody in the world.”  Shortly after sending out her e-mail, a friend of hers back on base in Fort Hood, TX gave her Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet name.  Nancy contacted the organization explaining the situation and was elated by the response she got.  “Within two days, somebody was at my house to get the dogs.”  Pedro, Loretta and Snowball were immediately placed in foster homes approved by Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet.  Snowball was eventually taken in by Linda Spurlin-Dominik, CEO, herself.

When asked how she felt once her dogs were safe Nancy said, “I was truly relieved.  Happy.”  Another benefit of fostering with the organization was the contact she received from each of the foster families.  “I loved seeing the pictures of the dogs.”  Nancy became especially close with Linda whom she said, “Acted like a mother to my dog.”

Obviously pleased with the care her dogs received with Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet, Nancy fostered her dogs with them again for her third and final tour.

PedroNow Nancy has become one of the organization’s biggest advocates.  When asked if she has recommended Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet to anybody else she told me, “Everybody.  Everybody.  I used to hand out fliers at Fort Hood at the vet’s office.”  She also told me, “I’d do anything for Guardian Angels.”  And she does.

As part of the board, Nancy now helps come up with ways to raise money for Guardian Angel’s various programs.  She also donates money every month as a way of paying back the organization that helped her so much.

Nancy also feels it’s important to spread the word about Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet.  “We’ve got to let people know that there is someone out there to help them.”

Nancy also has a message for all of the volunteers with Guardian Angels for Soldier’s Pet.  “For the people who volunteer, like the ones who took my dogs, all I can say is ‘thank you’ and God bless them because they give a lot of peace of mind to a lot of people.”

– Article written by Laurie Sickles. 

